Licensing board - introduction

North Lanarkshire Licensing Board ("the Board") is constituted under Section 5 of the Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005 and Section 2 of the Gambling Act 2005 as the relevant Licensing Board for the local authority area of North Lanarkshire

The board is responsible for administering the liquor licensing system under the Licensing (Scotland) Act 2005 Act and certain gambling licensing under the Gambling Act 2005 within North Lanarkshire. In particular, the board is responsible for processing applications for the following:

  • grant/renewal of licences for the sale of alcohol in premises and to individuals to supervise or authorise the sale of alcohol
  • grant occasional licences allowing the sale and consumption of alcohol
  • grant licences for premises where gambling is to take place
  • grant various permits under the Gambling Act 2005

The board has very close links with North Lanarkshire Council ('the council'). The Board comprises elected members of the council. The members of North Lanarkshire Licensing Board are:

  • John McLaren (Convener)
  • Bob Burgess
  • Sophia Coyle
  • Kevin Docherty
  • Willie Doolan
  • William Goldie
  • Robert McKendrick
  • Nicky Shevlin
  • Caroline Stephen
  • Alan Valentine

All revenue received by the board is transferred to the council. Furthermore, the council provides accommodation for the board's meetings and pays all necessary expenses in respect of the proceedings of the board. All staff working on behalf of the board are in fact employees of the council and are accordingly covered as council employees by any pay policy statement adopted by the council. The board is not an employer in its own right.

Please use the 'contact us' box if you have any questions.  For more information, see 'related pages', 'downloads' or 'other useful websites'.

A to Z of services