Sport Awards

Celebrating Club Sport, School Sport and Volunteering in North Lanarkshire

Sport Awards Winners 2019

The achievements of local sports coaches and volunteers has been recognised at the annual NL Sports Awards ceremony.

Hosted by Clyde 1 sports reporter Alison Conroy at the Alona Hotel, Strathclyde Park on Thursday 27 June, the event highlights the positive impact made by volunteers and coaches across school and community sport.

The awards featured 12 categories and there were over 160 nominations received in categories including Coach of the Year, Young Volunteer of the Year, Club of the Year and a lifetime achievement award. Check out all the pictures on our Flickr.

Paul Kelly, Depute Leader of North Lanarkshire Council said: "These awards recognise the contribution of the local sports clubs, coaches, teachers and volunteers who have made a significant impact to the delivery of sport across North Lanarkshire.

"Once again the number and quality of nominations received for these awards has been outstanding, and I would like to congratulate all the nominees for making it on to the shortlist in your respective categories. We are extremely grateful for your dedication, hard work and tireless enthusiasm to develop sport in North Lanarkshire.

"I would like to thank the North Lanarkshire Active Schools Team, not only for organising the awards evening, but also for work they have done throughout the year supporting a broad range of inclusive sport and physical activity opportunities within our schools and for supporting a wide range of organisations who deliver sport in our communities."

The evening was sponsored by Tillicoultry Quarries, Clubsport NL, Muller Milk and Ingredients, Tunnock's, Inspiration 4 Schools, S Collins & Son and North Lanarkshire Council's Chief Executives Office.

The winners were:

Young Coach of the Year: Darius Gillies - NL Chiefs Basketball Club

Official of the Year: Evan McNair - NL Chiefs Basketball Club

Official of the Year: Andrew McNair - NL Chiefs Basketball Club

Young Volunteer of the Year: Julie Anne Taylor - Active Schools

Community Coach of the Year: Majella Kerr - HOPE for Autism

School Sport Champion Primary School Staff: Laura Murdoch - Whitelees Primary School

School Sport Champion Secondary School Staff: Anton Heffron - St Ambrose High School

Club of the Year: ACES Netball Club

Young Persons Coach: Lorna Colquhoun - ACES Netball Club

Primary School of the Year: St Augustine's Primary School

Secondary School of the Year: Cumbernauld Academy

Volunteer of the Year: Martin Holmes - Dunbeth FC

Lifetime Achievement Award: Stewart McKenzie - Cumbernauld Colts FC

Follow the Active Schools Team on Twitter

Please use the 'contact us' box if you have any questions. For more information, see 'related pages' or 'other useful websites'. 

A to Z of services