Skip to main content

Town visions


North Lanarkshire has eight established town centres, each with its own distinctive features and identities.

Our area has historic towns like Airdrie and Kilsyth as well as new town Cumbernauld. Bellshill, Coatbridge, Motherwell and Wishaw each have their own mix of existing cultural, leisure and retail offering.

Shotts is the smallest of our town centres but as with our larger towns, it too has an important role in both creating a sense of community and in supporting the local economy.

The previous model for town centres is not sustainable. Out-of-town and online retail has changed how towns work. Our towns and how we use them are changing, and at a fast pace. We need to move to a mixed-use model for our town centres to reflect the needs of the community.

The Town Visions outline the high-level concept of what we want our towns to be and through place-marking, how we can influence and shape our towns to be great places to Live, Learn, Work, Invest and Visit.

In looking to the future, our towns need to be seen as places:

  • for all people
  • that are valued, appealing and liveable
  • that embrace challenges and our responsibilities for the future
  • that are dynamic and creative
  • that support successful and thriving communities

We are committed to helping town centres thrive and truly meet the needs of residents, businesses and visitors. 

Page last updated:
23 Mar 2023

Help us improve this pageClose

We're sorry this page didn't meet your expectations this time, please let us know if you have any feedback to help us improve.

Thank you for your feedback