Sign up to email alerts and stay in touch with the latest news from Schools and learning.

School holidays and term dates

The pdf icon proposed school holidays and term dates [238kb] for session 2021/22 is now available for consultation until Monday 21 September 2020.  Consultation responses should be sent using the contact us box. 

August 2020

In-service day: Tuesday 11 August 2020
Pupils return to school: Wednesday 12 August 2020

September 2020

In-service day: Thursday 24 September 2020
September weekend holidays: Friday 25 September 2020 and Monday 28 September 2020

October 2020

October break: Monday 12 October 2020 to Friday 16 October 2020 (inclusive)

November 2020

In-service day: Monday 16 Nov 2020

December 2020 - January 2021

Christmas and New Year Holidays: Wednesday 23 December 2020 to Tuesday 5 January 2021 (inclusive)

February 2021

Mid-term break: Monday 8 February 2021 and Tuesday 9 February 2021
In-service Day: Wednesday 10 February 2021

April 2021

Friday 2 April 2021 to Friday 16 April 2021 (Inclusive)
(Good Friday 2 April 2021 and Easter Monday 5 April 2021)

May 2021

May Day holiday: Monday 3 May 2021 In-service day: Thursday 6 May 2021
May weekend holiday: Friday 28 May 2021 and Monday 31 May 2021

June 2021

School closes: Thursday 24 June 2021


Please use the 'contact us' box if you have any questions. For more information, see 'related pages', 'downloads' or 'other useful websites'.

A to Z of services