Skip to main content

Community grants and awards

Community grants

Grants for voluntary and community groups in North Lanarkshire.

Application deadlines for 2023/24
Application closing dates Applications considered on 
Friday 5 May 2023 Monday 29 May 2023
Friday 11 August 2023 Monday 4 September 2023
Friday 3 November 2023 Monday 27 November 2023
Friday 2 February 2024 Monday 26 February 2024

What is the purpose of the grant scheme?

This grant scheme provides small amounts of funding, in a short timescale, to promote projects or activities that bring community benefit. 

Who can apply?

You must be a democratically run voluntary organisation or community group operating in North Lanarkshire.

This means that your organisation or group must be governed by people who are elected or appointed by the members of your organisation and that membership is open to appropriate sections of the community. For example, if your group is for people over 60 living in a particular town, anyone who falls into that category must be able to be a member.

Religious organisations may apply if the project is open to all sections of the community and it does not promote a particular faith or religious viewpoint.

Individuals, profit-distributing organisations, private clubs (clubs without open memberships), political parties and Trade Unions may not apply.

What can be funded?

Grants may be used for various purposes including: 

  • equipment
  • accommodation or let charges
  • social events
  • running costs
  • trips and outings
  • programme costs
  • improvements and building repairs 

What can't be funded?

Grants are not made for:

  • activities that started before the application is made
  • items of equipment of a personal nature
  • repairs or improvements to premises not owned by, or leased to, the organisation applying

How much can I apply for?

The maximum you can apply for is £1,000. You can apply:

  • up to three times in any one financial year (1 April to 31 March) for different activities
  • or for the same activity if six months have passed since the last application
  • the total funded to any one organisation in any one year must not exceed £1,000

What is the timescale for submitting applications?

Community Grants applications are considered at specific times throughout the year. You should apply in plenty of time for your application to be processed.

What is the application process?

Complete an application form. All additional information should be sent with your application in an electronic format such as a scan or photo. You need to tell us which council wards will benefit from your project. Your application will not be considered if you do not tell us this.

Your application form and additional information should be sent to

Please make sure that:

  • The form is fully completed and signed by two members involved in running your organisation.
  • You attach your constitution. It must be signed and dated by a minimum of two members of either the Management Committee or Board.
  • You attach a recent bank statement.
  • You attach a completed bank mandate form.
  • You attach a copy of your most recent annual financial statement. It must be signed and dated by the appropriate persons.

Where can I get help with the form?

If you would like any further help or advice in completing the application form please contact the Grants Administration Officer for your area. 

What happens next?

When we receive the application we will send you an email confirming that it has been received. We will give your application a reference number and tell you if we need any additional information or if any information is missing. The email will confirm the date on which the application will be considered.

Community Grants Scheme - Conditions of Grant 

If your organisation is awarded a grant you will be expected to comply with these conditions of grant.

Your signature on the application form confirms that you agree to abide by these conditions:

  • The grant award may only be used for the purpose (or purposes) originally applied for.
  • In the case of repairs or improvements to premises:
    • your organisation should own or lease property (at least five years)
    • comply with any relevant legislation
  • The funding contribution received from the council is acknowledged in any publicity material.
  • All purchases and/or services paid through the grant award must be backed up with receipts. You may be asked to submit these receipts as proof of expenditure so you should retain these for at least two years. All financial records relating to the grant award and its subsequent expenditure should be made available for inspection by council officers if requested
  • Undertake to keep any equipment purchased, secure, properly maintained and not disposed of without prior permission from the council;
  • Any monitoring reports that have been requested should be completed promptly. Failure to comply with monitoring requirements will mean that future grant applications cannot be accepted and late monitoring returns will delay the processing of applications
  • Return any unused grant to the council and
  • Return to the council any remaining grants monies, equipment or facilities purchased through the grants scheme in the event of the organisation disbanding.

Community grant enquiries by area:

  • Airdrie and North areas - call 07929 016753
  • Coatbridge area - call 07976 947238
  • Bellshill, Motherwell and Wishaw areas - call 07971 174685

Airdrie area councillors and wards
Ward Ward number Councillors
Airdrie North 8 Alan Beveridge, Henry Emerson Dunbar, Richard Allan Sullivan, Sophia Coyle
Airdrie Central  9 Jim Logue, Chris Costello, Lesley Jarvie, Janice Catherine Toner
Airdrie South 12 Michael Coyle, Paul Di Mascio, Michael McBride, Sandy Watson
Bellshill area councillors and wards
Ward Ward number Councillors
Thorniewood   14 Margaret Boyd, Barry McCluskey, Helen Loughran
Bellshill 15 Lisa Stubbs, Angela Campbell, Pat Paton, Anne McCrory
Mossend and Holytown  16 Beth Baudo, Frank McNally, Jim Reddin 
Motherwell area councillors and wards
Ward Ward number Councillors
Motherwell West 17 David Crichton, Paul Kelly, Lorraine Nolan
Motherwell North 18 Gerry Brennan, Andrew Duffy-Lawson, Ayeshah Khan, Anne Thomas
Motherwell South East & Ravenscraig    19 Kenneth Duffy, David Robb, Nathan Wilson, Kaye Harmon
Coatbridge area councillors and wards
Ward Ward number Councillors
Coatbridge North 7 Kirsten Larson, Alex McVey, Bill Shields, Allan Stubbs
Coatbridge West  10 Kevin Docherty, Lesley Mitchell, Gary Robinson 
Coatbridge South  11 Tracey Carragher, Fergus MacGregor, Andrew Bustard, Geraldine Woods
North area councillors and wards
Ward Ward number Councillors
Kilsyth 1 Heather Brannan - McVey, Jean Jones, Denis Johnston
Cumbernauld North  2 Danish Ashraf, Tom Fisher, Alan Masterton, Gordon Currie
Cumbernauld South 3 William Goldie, Ann Ballinger, Peter McDade, James McPhilemy
Cumbernauld East 4 Clare Barclay, Tom Johnston, Barry McCulloch, Adam Smith
Stepps Chryston and Muirhead  5 Josh Cairns, Claire Louise Williams, John McLaren
Gartcosh, Glenboig and Moodiesburn 6 Greg Lennon, Michael McPake, Joanne Katie Kelty
Wishaw area councillors and wards
Ward Ward number Councillors
Fortissat  13 Martin McCulloch, Kenneth Stevenson, Margaret Hughes, John Jo Leckie
Murdouston    20 Robert John McKendrick, Cameron McManus, Louise Roarty, Nicky Shevlin
Wishaw 21 Bob Burgess, Frank McKay, Fiona Fotheringham, Jim Hume

Community Grant bank mandate form

Page last updated:
23 Nov 2023

Help us improve this pageClose

We're sorry this page didn't meet your expectations this time. Please let us know if you have any feedback to help us improve the content.

If you have a question or comment about a council service or would like a reply, please contact us.

Thank you for your feedback